The 20-year-old capped off an incredible season by scooping the headline award, which recognises excellence both on and off the pitch. 

Green has represented the Young Matildas and was part of Sydney FC’s Championship-winning team last month but it was her achievements in the role as Fan Engagement Coordinator at the club that attracted the attention of the panel of judges. 

Ally developed excellent relations with community club representatives, oversaw the trial of a fan and community shuttle bus service to games, often attended community-based club and charity events both as a Sydney FC player and staff member, as well as coaching and coordinating the club's holiday clinic events that develop young players.

The rebel Female Football Awards play an important role in formally recognising the contribution women play in football from grassroots through to elite level and celebrating their achievements over the past year.

Football Federation Australia CEO David Gallop AM paid tribute to the role females play in Australia’s largest club-based participation sport.

“It has been a huge week for women’s football. The Matildas got back to the dominant ways of 2017 and it was particularly pleasing to see them buzzing with excitement at the end of each game," he said.

“I loved seeing them mixing with the fans and providing young girls with some memoires that will last a lifetime but also inspire them to play the game. I like the expression “if you can’t see it, you can’t be it".

“That sums up the importance of young females seeing their heroes.”

rebel Female Football Award Winners

Westfield W-League/Hyundai A-League Category:




rebel Role Model Award

Ally Green

Sydney FC

Female Coach of the Year

Mel Andreatta

Brisbane Roar

Female Administrator of the Year

Nicola Browne

Newcastle Jets

Female Fan of the Year

Chris McAlister

Brisbane Roar

Male Champion of the Year

Jeff Hopkins

Melbourne Victory

Member Federation Category:



Member Federation

Female Player of the Year

Joey Powell

Northern NSW Football

Female Coach of the Year

Louise McColl

Football Victoria

Female Administrator of the Year

Bethwyn Wyatt

Football West

Female Referee of the Year

Chloe Gray

Football NSW

The Male Champion of the Year

Shane Cole

Football West