Australia and New Zealand will learn whether they will host the 2023 Women's World Cup when the FIFA Council meets online on June 25.

Brazil, Colombia and Japan are the other three candidates in what FIFA described as "the most competitive bidding process" in the event's history.

The 37-member FIFA Council will hold an open vote, with the result of each ballot and each voter's choice to be made public on the FIFA website.

FIFA conducted inspection visits of the bidding member associations - none of whom have hosted a Women's World Cup before - in January and February, and will publish an evaluation report in early June.

"FIFA remains committed to implementing the most comprehensive, objective and transparent bidding process in the history of the FIFA Women's World Cup," FIFA general secretary Fatma Samoura said.

The hosts were originally going to be decided at a FIFA Council meeting in Addis Ababa in June, which was postponed due to the coronavirus pandemic.

The 2023 Women's World Cup will be the first to host 32 teams, up from 24 at France 2019.

"We believe that our proven ability to deliver the FIFA Women's World Cup 2023 is a key strength of our bid," FFA president Chris Nikou said.

"Our world-class infrastructure, modern stadium, high-quality football facilities in both Australia and New Zealand, and major event hosting experience ensure certainty in delivering the first 32-team FIFA Women's World Cup.

"From operational excellence, record-breaking crowds, commercial success, strong government support, a warm embrace from our 200 diverse cultures to a genuine profound legacy across the Asia-Pacific region, Australia-New Zealand offers certainty in uncertain times, as well as impact. "

New Zealand Football president Joanna Wood said the joint bid's ability to bring together two football confederations - Asia and Oceania - presented an opportunity for women's football.

"Our proposal offers FIFA a ground-breaking approach to hosting its greatest women's tournament," Wood said.

"We are two nations from two confederations, united in proposing a historic and exciting step forward for world football.

"We will be a tournament of firsts. The first ever co-Confederation hosted FIFA World Cup, the first ever FIFA Women's World Cup to be held in the Asia-Pacific region, and the first ever to be held in the southern hemisphere."

South Korea and South Africa dropped out of the bidding in December.


Want the best women’s football news in your inbox? Sign up here!


Follow us on Insta for the best football news daily! 


WATCH! The best Matildas goals of all time

On countless occasions, the Matildas have showcased some amazing goals in major tournaments.


Our top five performing Matildas in the last 12 months

Over the last 12 months, Australia’s Matildas have made a huge mark within football, which has been noticed not only by their own Australian fans but worldwide.


'Stuff it' and move W-League to winter - or risk irrelevance

The W-League needs to be bold if it is to maintain its status as one of the premier women’s competitions in the world, say NPLW stars.


Date for fate of Aus/NZ 2023 WWC bid

FIFA's ruling council will make a decision on the 2023 Women's World Cup host on June 25, with Australia and New Zealand's joint bid among the four candidates.


Report: Matildas' WSL seasons ended

The English FA and the FA Women's Super League organisers, after a board meeting on Friday, have reportedly come to the conclusion that the best option for the FA WSL is to curtail the 2019-20 season.


NRLW to be included in TV deal

After months of uncertainty as to the future of the National Rugby League Women's premiership it appears that the league will be given prioritization through a joint television deal with the NRL.


NPLW junior expansion: Good idea or money spinner?

Football Victoria is planning to expand its NPLW junior program for 2021, increasing the number of clubs from 10 to 24 teams. It is proposed the 24 teams be split into two divisions of 12.