The draw procedure and pots have been released for the Olympic Football Tournaments Rio 2016 to be held on 14 April 2016 at the Maracana.

The women's tournament will see three groups of four drawn to battle it out for gold in Rio.

Hosts Brazil (E1) have been placed in Pot 1 alongside defending gold medalists the USA and world no. 2 Germany.  The other three pots have seen the nations divided according to their FIFA Women's World Ranking as at 25 March 2016. The Matildas highest ever ranking of 5 has resulted in them placed in the second pot.

Pot 1: Brazil, USA, Germany

Pot 2: France, Australia, Sweden

Pot 3: Canada, China PR, New Zealand

Pot 4: Colombia, South Africa, Zimbabwe

Draw Procedure

The guiding principle for the draw is to ensure that no group has more than one team from the same confederation.  The draw procedure will involve:

  • 3 pots representing the venues are labelled Groups E to G.

  • In each pot, there are 4 balls which contain the position numbers 1, 2, 3 and 4 of each respective group.

  • The draw starts with Pot 1 and ends with Pot 4.

  • Each pot is completely emptied before moving on to the next pot.

  • A ball from a team pot will be drawn, followed by a ball from one of the groups, thus determining the position in which the respective team will play.

The draw is scheduled to kick off at 10.30 local time (11.30pm AET).