Australia have packed their 16-strong squad with the best on offer to try to go one better than the 2017 edition, where they lost the final by a single point to Japan.

The Opals squad also features WNBA powerhouses Leilani Mitchell and Stephanie Talbot, among others.

“With many of our players in the WNBA, and the uncertainty of the playoff seedings at this time, the coaches and I have decided to name a squad of 16 with the final team to be announced closer to our departure to Asia Cup and once we know who will be available from the WNBA,” said Opals Head Coach Sandy Brondello.

The Asia Cup will also be a chance for the team to prepare for their Olympic campaign, with the qualifying stages beginning this November.

“Asia Cup is an important tournament and with our limited time together moving forward into the November and February Qualification, we would like to have our best team together as much as we can. While injuries have prevented some players availability, our depth continues to shine through.

“We feel this squad has the right balance of players in every position in order for us to perform well.”


Rebecca Allen – New York Liberty
Abby Bishop – JCU Townsville Fire
Sara Blicavs – TBC
Elizabeth Cambage – Las Vegas Aces
Katie Ebzery – Perth Lynx
Darcy Garbin – JCU Townsville Fire
Cayla George – Deakin Melbourne Boomers
Eziyoda Magbegor – Deakin Melbourne Boomers
Lauren Mansfield – Perth Lynx
Leilani Mitchell – Phoenix Mercury
Lauren Nicholson – Adelaide Lightning
Jenna O’Hea – Southside Flyers
Nicole Seekamp – Adelaide Lightning
Stephanie Talbot – Minnesota Lynx
Marianna Tolo – UC Capitals
Sami Whitcomb – Seattle Storm

The Opals first game will be 24 September against the Philippines.