Sydney and Brisbane continue their battle royale | (Credit: Cam Wheeler) Sydney and Brisbane continue their battle royale | (Credit: Cam Wheeler)

Forget the New Year’s fireworks in the Sydney Harbour! The Westfield W-League is throwing its own spectacle on New Year’s Day, when Sydney FC takes on the Brisbane Roar at Campbelltown Stadium!

Women's football in Australia doesn't get any better than this, as fans are spoilt with a rematch of last year’s grand final! And as the two dominant teams again this season, there is plenty on the line for the winner.  Not only do they gain top spot on the Westfield W-League ladder but also the psychological advantage heading into the finals series.

In Season Three Sydney FC have been a brutal goalscoring unit as evidenced by Week 7's 4-0 battering of Adelaide United.  The Sky Blues main avenues to goal have been Kyah Simon, Leena Khamis and Kylie Ledbrook with the trio netting 13 of Sydney's 19 goals.  Defensively they have also been difficult to navigate with Danielle Brogan, Teigen Allen, Servet Uzunlar and Co making it next to impossible for the opposition to score.

However, if any attack can it would be Brisbane.  After a slow start to, by their standards anyway, to the season the Roar have kicked things up a notch in the last couple of weeks with their starts starting to come to the fore.  Tameka Butt has over come injury to be a start alongside Lana Harch and the dynamic Lisa de Vanna.  Add to that the creativity of Elise Kellond-Knight, Amy Chapman and the experienced Jo Burgess, well its sets up one of the matches of the season.

The last time these two met was at the beginning of the season where Sydney FC inflicted a 4 - 2 defeat on the Roar in the opening game of Season Three.  However, this time both teams are in red-hot form and it should be an electrifying exhibition showcasing the skills of a number of Westfield Matildas squad members vying for selection to compete in the highly anticipated 2011 FIFA Women's World Cup.

If you can’t make it to down to Campbelltown Stadium on New Year’s Day, you’re in luck, as this match will be broadcast live and exclusive on ABC 1 at 3pm AEST.