While the Men’s competition is going into its 30th year, the Women’s competition is in its 16th instalment having inaugurated in 2004.

The OVO Australian Waterpolo League will see teams battle it out across 11 rounds with the top six men's and women's teams going through to the finals Series in May to be held at Sydney Olympic Park, home of the 2000 Olympics.  

The first round, the Cole Miller round, will hold special meaning for water polo community as it will remember former Brisbane Barracudas player Cole.  The young aspiring water polo player tragically lost his life as the victim of one punch assault.  All clubs around the country will honour the Cole Miller round retiring the number 10 cap - Cole’s cap number.

You will be able to catch the action via OVO Mobile, who have come back on board to stream the games, with the Grant Simms Cup/Clash of the Cats match between the UTS Balmain Tigers and Sydney University Lions on Saturday 2 February 2019, which is being held at the iconic Dawn Fraser Baths.

Image Courtesy: Water Polo Australia

To catch the action, download the OVO Mobile app. 

In other games, the season opener between the Drummoyne Devils and ACU Cronulla Sharks will take place at Drummoyne Swimming Pool tonight at 7:30pm, in front of a big home crowd. Both teams have had some significant changes from last season, with players moving between clubs as well as playing overseas in the European championships.

Along with the Clash of the Cats game on Saturday in Sydney, the newly formed Queensland Thunder will take on the Hunter Hurricanes on home turf at Fortitude Valley in a double header at 5:30pm on Saturday and 10:00am on Sunday.

The Adelaide Jets are also hosting the Fremantle Marlins at home for a double header, which will be a tough match up for round one. The Marlins, who are equal with Brisbane Barracudas with the championships (five) finished with a Bronze medal in the 2018 season, while the Jets’s finished in last place at the end of the regulation season.

Sunday 3 February will round of the first round of the season when the Drummoyne Devils play their second match of the season at home again against the reigning championships, UNSW Wests Killer Whales, with a 5pm kick off.

Image Courtesy: Water Polo Australia

Past Winner:

2018: UNSW Wests Killer Whales
2017: Sydney Uni Lions
2016: Sydney Uni Lions
2015: Brisbane Barracudas
2014: Fremantle Marlins
2013: Brisbane Barracudas
2012: Cronulla Sharks
2011: Brisbane Barracudas
2010: Brisbane Barracudas
2009: Brisbane Barracudas
2008: Fremantle Marlins
2007: Fremantle Marlins
2006: Cronulla Sharks
2005: Fremantle Marlins
2004: Fremantle Marlins