The draw for Season 9 of the W-League has been released with the competition starting on 5 November 2016 and seeing a 14 round regular season throughout 2016/17.

FOX SPORTS and ABC Television will once again be the principal broadcasters and will air 14 matches throughout the regular season, as well as every match in the 2017 Finals Series, including the Grand Final on Sunday, 12 February 2017.

New Head of the W-League Greg O’Rourke says the 2016/17 draw reflects the growing interest and stature of women's football in Australia.

"Women's football is an important component of FFA's Whole of Football Plan and strategy over the next 20 years and females represent over 20 per cent of registered participants.

“This Westfield W-League draw, together with the calibre of players set to grace the field, has all of the elements to be the best season yet and will continue to encourage even more females to play and be involved in the game."

The opening broadcast match of Round 1 will see Adelaide United host Melbourne Victory at Coopers Stadium on 7 November 2016 while defending champions and premiers Melbourne City will begin their title defence against the Newcastle Jets at C.B. Smith Reserve on 6 November.

"Having 19 double headers puts the Westfield W-League on the main stage with the Hyundai A-League and gives football fans even more opportunity to get out and experience the best Australian domestic football has to offer,” said O’Rourke.

"FOX SPORTS and ABC TV are to be commended for their continued support of the Westfield W-League as they broadcast this increasingly popular product into lounge rooms around the country."

W-League 2016/17 Key Points:

  • 57 matches in total = 54 regular season matches + 2 Semi-Finals +  W-League Grand Final
  • W-League 2016/17 Season will kick off on Saturday 5 November 2016 with Brisbane Roar FC taking on Sydney FC at Dunmore Park
  • There are 19 confirmed Westfield W-League/Hyundai A-League double headers throughout the season
  • Melbourne Derby between Melbourne City FC and Melbourne Victory in Round 4 and Round 12
  • Sydney Derby between Western Sydney Wanderers and Sydney FC in Rounds 2 and 9