The winners will be announced at a gala ceremony in Melbourne early next year.

The Sport Australia Media Awards (#SportAUSMediaAwards) have been running since 2002 and are Australia’s only awards dedicated to recognising excellence in sports journalism, broadcasting, production and photography.

The ceremony will also honour a new recipient of the Lifetime Achievement Award for sports journalism, last awarded to Debbie Spillane.

Congratulations to all of the #womeninsport journalists including:

Best individual  sport  coverage – broadcast

  • Kelli Underwood, Fox Sports and ABC 
  • Lucy Zelic, SBS

Best individual sport coverage – digital

  • Mary Konstantopoulos, Ladies Who League

Best sport profile – print

  • Konrad Marshall, ‘Second serve: The stunning rise of Ash Barty’, Fairfax Media

Best depiction of inclusive sport

  • Emma Race, ‘The Outer Sanctum Podcast’, ABC Radio
  • Lauren Day, ‘Inner Demons – sacrificing it all for the AFLW’, ABC 7.30
  • Jennifer Browning, ‘Bush Footy’, ABC News

Best coverage of sport for people with disability

  • Denise Reardon, ‘Soldier On’, The Golf Show, Fox Sports
  • Lauren Day, ‘Dylan Alcott out to make disability sexy’, ABC 7.30

Best regional, rural and suburban sport coverage

  • ABC Heywire  (Darliah Killer, Kudamba Abaas, Jarrod Darlow, Emma Murray), ‘What regional sport means to young people’, ABC Radio, TV and Online

Best contribution to sport via digital media

  • Surfing Australia, ‘’
  • Patrick Galloway, ABC News, ‘Dani Stevens – The Science behind the perfect discus throw’
  •, ‘The Women’s Game’
  • PlayersVoice, ‘PlayersVoice is Changing The Game’
  • Fox Sports, ‘The Magic of the Cup: The FFA Cup’

Best sport profile – broadcast

Ben Waterworth, Denise Reardon, Dave Haworth, ‘Lauren Jackson – In her Element’, Fox Sports