New Sydney FC head coach Ante Juric has revealed the beginnings of his squad for the 2017/18 W-League season.

Headlining the new signings is Matildas centre back Caitlin Cooper who joins the Sky Blues after two seasons with cross town rivals Western Sydney Wanderers.

“I’m thrilled to be a Sky Blue,” Cooper said.

“Ante has assembled a fantastic squad and I’m confident of challenging for silverware this season with Sydney FC.”

From the Wanderers Juric has also picked up Young Matildas defender Angelique Hristodoulou and former Sky Blue defender Rachael Soutar.

As well as Cooper, Hristodoulou and Soutar, Juric has added to his defensive stocks with the return of full back Teigen Allen.

Allen spent last season with defending champions Melbourne City but returns to her hometown club for Season 10.

Long time captain Teresa Polias and foundation player Leena Khamis heads the returning Sky Blues along with Amy Harrison, Young Matilda Princess Ibini and the Season 9 W-League Young Player of the Year and Sydney FC Player of the Remy Siemsen.

“We’ve got a great mix of youth and experience in this team and I can only see success on the horizon.” Ante Juric

Meanwhile recent Matildas recall Georgia Yeoman-Dale also stays for a second season with the Sky Blues together with stalwarts Liz Ralston and Sham Khamis

“I’m glad that we’ve kept the core of last season’s squad together, though we have looked to make some positive changes as well," said Juric.

“We have brought in some younger players that will be looking to forge a name for themselves and to push the more experienced players for a starting position.

Two names noticeably absent from the squad announcement are long time Sydney FC players and Matildas Kyah Simon, Alanna Kennedy and Caitlin Foord.

“With 12 players already in training with the Sky Blues, Sydney FC are expecting further signings in the coming weeks."


Teigen Allen (defender), Caitlin Cooper (defender), Angelique Hristodoulou (defender), Amy Harrison (forward), Princess Ibini (forward), Leena Khamis (forward), Sham Khamis (goalkeeper), Teresa Polias (midfielder) Liz Ralston (defender), Remy Siemsen (forward), Rachael Soutar (defender), Georgia Yeoman-Dale (defender)