The Matildas and the W-League will have a new free-to-air home in 2017/18 with SBS claiming the rights to broadcast matches for the upcoming W-League season as well as the Matildas.

SBS has joined Fox Sports as the broadcasters of the league with two matches per round of the upcoming W-League Season 10 will air on SBS Viceland live on the 5pm Friday and 2pm Sunday time slots.

“We’re proud that women’s football has been in the schedule at SBS for over a decade, and we’re pleased to be partnering with Football Federation Australia and Fox Sports to bring more of these first class games to all Australians," said SBS Director of Sport, Ken Shipp.

“SBS is incredibly passionate about our football heritage – we have been in the business of broadcasting ‘the beautiful game’ for over 30 years and we believe it is a sport that truly reflects our unique Charter by connecting Australia’s diverse communities.”

The two semi finals and the 2018 W-League Grand Final will also be broadcast on live and in HD on SBS.

As well as a commitment to the W-League, SBS will also be broading the Matildas November international series with China.

The 22 November and 26 November fixtures will be live on free-to-air as well as being streamed online via The World Game website.

“The Matildas are in brilliant form right now and SBS is excited to continue our support of this world class team in the lead up to the 2019 FIFA Women’s World Cup France."

The first match to be broadcast this Friday night with Sydney FC hosting Brisbane Roar.


Matildas v China

Wednesday 22 November

7pm AEDT LIVE on SBS VICELAND + live streamed on The World Game website and app

Matildas v China

Sunday 26 November

4pm AEDT LIVE on SBS + live streamed on The World Game website and app

W-League LIVE on SBS VICELAND + live streamed on The World Game website and app

Friday 27 October from 5pm AEDT - Sydney FC v Brisbane Roar

Sunday 29 October from 2pm AEDT - Newcastle Jets v Western Sydney Wanderers

Friday 3 November from 5pm AEDT - Melbourne City v Melbourne Victory

Sunday 5 November from 2pm AEDT - Brisbane Roar v Perth Glory

Friday 10 November from 5pm AEDT - Adelaide United v Perth Glory

Sunday 12 November from 4pm AEDT - Melbourne City v Newcastle Jets

*Further matches and Finals schedule TBA