Matildas forward Sam Kerr has been crowned the 2017 AFC Women's Player of the Year at the AFC Annual Awards ceremony in   Bangkok, Thailand.

Kerr took the AFC's top prize after a stellar 2017 for Perth Glory, Sky Blue FC and the Matildas.

"Firstly, I would just like to say congratulations to the two other nominees on a great year," said Kerr at the ceremony.

Kerr beat out some stiff competition including Japan's Saki Kumagai.  The defender also had a stellar year with club side Olympique Lyonnais.

Kumagai was a key member of the side that claimed back to back trebles of the Division 1 Feminine league title (conceding just 6 goals during the season), the French Cup and the UEFA Women's Champions League.

While DPR Korea's U20 spearhead Sung Hyang Sim led her side to the final of the AFC U-19 Women’s Championship in Nanjing.  The 17 year old forward picked up the tournament Golden Boot and the MVP award as she helped DPR Korea qualify for the 2018 FIFA U20 Women's World Cup.

"Secondly, thanks to the AFC for this wonderful night. It has been a bit of crazy year but I just want to say thank to every one of my support staff that helped my throughout this year. They know who they are."

"Most importantly, to my teammates because without them, none of this would have been possible so thank you."

2017 was a record setting year for the 24 year old as she scored 35 goals for clubs and country.  Along the way she led Perth Glory to the 2017 W-League Grand Final, set the NWSL record for most goals for a single season and for all time and set the Matildas record for scoring in the most consecutive matches (6) as she helped Australia to a 9-1-1 international record.

Those records have seen the Perth Glory captain rack up the awards including the 2017 Julie Dolan Medal for Player of the Year, the NWSL Most Valuable Player award, the NWSL Golden Boot, the 2017 PFA Player of the Year, the Women's Health Sportsperson of the Year and nominated for the FIFA Women's Player of the Year.

Kerr succeeds Matildas teammate Caitlin Foord and becomes the third Australian in four years to win Asia's top gong.

AFC Women’s Player of the Year - Previous winners

2003   Bai Jie (China PR)

2004   Homare Sawa (Japan)

2005   Natsuko Hara (Japan)

2006   Ma Xiaoxu (China PR)

2007   Ri Kum Suk (DPR Korea)

2008   Homare Sawa (Japan)

2010   Kate Gill (Australia)

2011   Aya Miyama (Japan)

2012   Aya Miyama (Japan)

2014   Katrina Gorry (Australia)

2015   Aya Miyama (Japan)

2016   Caitlin Foord (Australia)

2017   Sam Kerr (Australia)