Nairn received 21 points with Sam Kerr, Caitlin Foord, Yuki Nagasato and Clare Polkinghorne also receiving votes.  

The win sees the 28-year-old American became the first international to ever take out the Julie Dolan Medal in its 23-year history.

Matildas and Canberra United defender Ellie Carpenter was the winner of the W-League Young Footballer of the Year Award.

Carpenter, who beat fellow Canberra teammates Karly Roestbakken, was one of the top players for the team in green this season.

Sydney FC goalkeeper Aubrey Bledsoe claimed the W-League Goalkeeper of the Year Award after conceding just 22 goals while keeping two clean sheets in the clubs run to a Championship title.

The 27-year-old became the third American goalkeeper to win the award.

Cortnee Vine from the Newcastle Jets scored the Goal of the Year for her strike against Canberra United in Round 3. 

Kate Jacewicz claimed the W-League’s Referee of the Year Award for a record eighth time. The Queenslander is headed to the FIFA Women's World Cup next month as one of three Australian referees to be selected.

It was a special night for Leigh Wardell who was inducted into the FFA Hall of Fame. 

Wardell was one of the original Matildas, becoming the 11th ever women to represent Australia in football. 

She played at a time where international games were far and few in between but she went on to earn 14 caps in a career which spanned nine-years.

“Leigh Wardell was a starting player in the first official Matildas team that faced New Zealand in 1979 and has then excelled in the coaching world after a stellar career as a player," FFA Chairman Chris Nikou said.

"We have seen the impact the Matildas have made over the past 40 years and we owe a great deal of gratitude to these women who laid the foundations for our stars of today."