By winning the 2016/17 W-League premiership and the championship, Canberra United and Melbourne City created new pieces of W-League history in 2017.

Coming into the season, defending champions Melbourne City were aiming to do something no team had ever done in the W-League - win back-to-back championships.

After taking all before them in Season 8, the expectation was that City would continue in the same vein in Season 9.

[MORE: Memories of 2017]

However it was a more familiar name that emerged as the leading contender with Rae Dower's Canberra United emerging at the greatest challenger to Melbourne City's dominance.

United were the first team to defeat City as the two teams battled it out in three memorable encounters in 2016/17.

Led by an impressive strike force that included Ashleigh Sykes (Golden Boot), Lisa De Vanna, Michelle Heyman and Hayley Raso, Canberra United's consistency was rewarded with a third Premier's Plate - making them the most successful team in W-League history.

City's regular season was more up and down with a strong start leading to a mid-season stumble before they righted the ship when it counted.

When it came to the knockout matches, the class of the squad shone through in a tight semi final against Canberra and then again in the Grand Final against Perth Glory.  The likes of Jess Fishlock, Steph Catley, Aivi Luik, Lauren Barnes and Lydia Williams shone when the pressure was on.

Season 10 will see Melbourne City gunning for a unprecedented third W-League championship while Canberra United will also look to add to their trophy cabinet.