Photo: Victory squad for Season 8 (Photo Credit: Melbourne Victory)

Following the change of administration late last week, Melbourne Victory fans were today given a glimpse of the W-League squad for Season 8.

Coached by the newly re-appointed Dave Edmondson, the team sees a return of some familiar Victory faces and the signing of some new, experienced and inexperienced, recruits.

One of the big captures for the Victory is Matildas forward Hayley Raso.  Raso - who was part of the 2015 FIFA Women's World Cup squad - arrives at Victory after two seasons with the Brisbane Roar.

[More: Victory A-League take control of W-League team]

Raso spent the W-League off-season with NWSL side Washington Spirit with the 21-year-old playing in 9 matches including starting in the Spirit's semi-final loss to premiers Seattle Reign.

The speedster will be one of the keys to Melbourne's new attack following the high profile departures of De Vanna, Goad and Quigley.

Raso's Spirit teammate Christine Nairn will also line up for Victory with the midfielder back for a second loan stint in Melbourne.

Newly retired Matildas goalkeeper and former Victory captain Melissa Barbieri returns to the Victory after several seasons at the Newcastle Jets and Adelaide United.

Barbieri's first stint at the Victory saw her captain the club in their first two seasons before the custodian was replaced in favour of new Melbourne City goalkeeper Brianna Davey.

After a season with the Jets, Barbieri became a mother before returning to the W-League with Adelaide United where she was named the Seas0n 6 Goalkeeper of the Year.

[More: Barbieri retires from international football]

The 35-year-old Victorian Hall of Fame inductee then forced her way into the 2015 FIFA Women's World Cup squad where she started for Australia against eventual world champions the United States.

Barbieri retired from international football late last month but will now take up the No.1 for the Victory.

Barbieri is joined in the squad by long time Matildas teammate Thea Slatyer.

Slatyer, who played 51 A-Internationals for Australia, retired from football in 2014 after a number of successive injuries.

Time away from the game has assisted the central defender in managing the injuries and the veteran is set to add plenty of experience as she lines up for her fourth W-League club.

Adding to the experience is midfielder Selin Kuralay.

Capped 22 times for the Matildas - including playing all three group matches for Australia at the 2004 Athens Olympics - the midfielder lined up for the Victory in their first season before spending time at Adelaide United.

Kuralay returns to the national stage after a number of seasons in the Victorian Women's Premier League.

With so many off season departures, it will be a clean slate for Victory with several local players earning a call up including U17 Matildas Jessica Pitts, Annabelle Martin and talented twins Adriana and Melissa Taranto.

Strong performances in the VWPL has also seen chances open up for Jamie Pollock and Mindy Barbieri. Meanwhile former New Zealand U17 and U20 WWC representative forward Briar Palmer will be looking to make a name for herself in Australia.

The Victory commence their season against premiers Perth Glory on Saturday, 17 October 2015.

Melbourne Victory squad

Melissa BARBIERI, Mindy BARBIERI, Enza BARILLA, Cassie DIMOVSKI, Brooke ELBY, Whitney KNIGHT, Gulcan KOCA, Selin KURALAY, Annabelle MARTIN, Christine NAIRN, Alex NATOLI, Briar PALMER, Jess PITTS, Jamie POLLOCK, Hayley RASO, Thea SLATYER, Laura SPIRANOVIC, Adriana TARANTO , Melissa TARANTO