Head coach Alen Stajcic, striker Sam Kerr and the Matildas team were honoured at the AIS Sports Performance Awards held at The Star in Sydney.

The AIS Sport Performance Awards celebrate the nation’s sporting achievements with several of Australia's top sporting teams and individuals gathering for the annual gala.

Matildas head coach Alen Stajcic was named the Coach of the Year for his part in guiding the national team to a 9-1-1 record in 2017, including wins over Top 15 nations USA, Japan, Brazil, the Netherlands and China.


In his speech, Stajcic paid tribute to the playing group and staff behind the team.

"The most rewarding part [of being a coach] is seeing the hard work pay off," said Stajcic.

"We have a fantastic group of players who commit every bit of their soul to the team."

"We have unbelievable staff, who are probably the best staff in the world, and commit every single day of their lives to our team."

"We have an unbelievable family and to see that family succeed is the most rewarding part."

"We have reached so many pinnacles this year which will really lay the platform for next year."

Speaking to the increased public recognition and popularity of the team in 2017, the Matildas took out the two public voting awards.

Spearhead Sam Kerr added to her 2017 collection of awards with the ABC Sports Personality of the Year.



"I just want to say how grateful and humbled I am to win this award," said Kerr via video message from Perth.

While the Matildas were the People's Choice 2017 Team of the Year.


"It's amazing for this team to just receive this award," said co-captain Lisa De Vanna.

"We have worked really hard to build our team and to get the public to see how well we have been playing. It's fantastic."

It is the first time the Matildas have won the Team of the Year award.

AIS Sport Performance Awards winners

ABC Sports Personality of the Year (presented by ABC): Sam Kerr (Football)

Female Athlete of the Year (presented by Berlei): Sally Pearson (Athletics)

Male Athlete of the Year (presented by The Complete Dairy): Scott James (Winter Sport)

Public Choice Team of the Year (presented by A.H. Beard): Matildas (Football)

Best Sporting Moment (presented by 2XU): Jeff Horn’s world boxing title (Boxing)

Coach of the Year (presented by Melbourne Business School): Alen Stajcic (Football)

Para Performance of the Year (presented by Nestle): Mitchell Gourley (Winter Sport)

Emerging Athlete of the Year (presented by Commonwealth Games Australia): Kelland O’Brien (Cycling)

Team of the Year (presented by Gatorade): Australian Freestyle Skiing and Snowboard (Winter Sport)

Award for Leadership (presented by Melbourne Business School): Susan Alberti (Australian Football)

Service to Sport: Glenn Tasker (Australian Paralympic Committee)