Australia will now meet Norway, Portugal and China PR in Group A of the 2018 Algarve Cup to be held in Portugal.

The change of group opponents is a result of the recent 2018 AFC Asian Cup draw where the Matildas were drawn alongside Korea Republic, the previous Algarve Cup group member.

The Portuguese Football Federation (FPF) confirmed the group change on Monday. It was a changed that was anticipated considering World Cup group opponents are barred from arranging friendlies against one another prior to the tournament.

“We are looking forward to the Algarve Cup as we prepare for the 2018 AFC Women’s Asian Cup in April,” said  Head Coach Alen Stajcic.

“2017 was a great year for us in terms of performances, consistency, and most importantly laying a platform for our schedule in 2018 and beyond."

After rising to number 4 in the world last week, Australia will enter the Algarve Cup as the highest ranked of the 12 nations in the tournament that includes European champions the Netherlands and Asian Cup opponents Japan and Korea Republic.

The 25th edition of the Algarve Cup between 28 February and 7 March 2018.


Group 1

Norway (14th)

Australia (4th)

China (16th)

Portugal (34th)

Group 2

Sweden (10th)

Canada (5th)

South Korea (14th)

Russia 25º)

Group 3

Denmark (12th)

Netherlands (7th)

Japan (9th)

Iceland (20th)