Melbourne Victory championship midfielder Jessica Fishlock has been voted the 2013/14 Football Media Association W-League Player of the Year.

Fishlock led the votes in a strong field that included Victory teammate Lisa De Vanna (second), Adelaide United goalkeeper Melissa Barbieri (third), Katrina Gorry (Brisbane Roar), Stephanie Ochs (Canberra United) and Renee Rollason and Jodie Taylor (both Sydney FC).

ÔÇťJess Fishlock is a crowd favourite in the W-League and was instrumental in helping Melbourne Victory win the W-League title this season,ÔÇŁ said FMA President Ray Gatt.

ÔÇťFMA wants to commend all players throughout the W-League seasons for some wonderful entertainment and continuously improving quality.ÔÇŁ

The Wales national team captain, who is currently playing for ladder leaders Seattle Reign in the US National Women's Soccer League, was pleased to accept the award.

"It's a huge honour for me to have been voted by the media as the W-League Player of the Year," Fishlock told The Women's Game.

"I  thank everyone for their votes and all the time spent on working with and on the W-League."

"The media for the W-League is brilliant and is needed for the growth of the game, so Thank you."

Fishlock is the second winner and first international player to receive the FMA award with Sydney FC's Samantha Kerr, also currently playing in the NWSL, the inaugural winner.