Collette McCallum to lead Perth for a second season Collette McCallum to lead Perth for a second season

Perth Glory coach Jamie Harnwell has finalised his squad for the upcoming season as they look to once again challenge for the W-League.

The core of last season's squad has returned led by captain Collette McCallum and Matildas captain Kate Gill.

“It has been great to welcome back so many familiar faces again. We have built a good culture in the club now, with a group of girls driven to succeed," said Harnwell.

“Last year was a breakout year for us and now the pressure is on us to maintain that level. With the mix of youth and experience we possess, we are really looking to make the finals, and then, as we know, anything can happen.”

The squad is full of local talent with 13 West Australians named including Glory stalwarts Marianna Tabain, Shannon May and Ella Mastrantonio and Young Matildas defender Sarah Carroll.

Perth's international contingent consists of the returning Sasha Andrews as well as Danish international defender Cecilie Sandvej, guest Canadian international striker Christina Julien (she will only be eligible for 7 matches) and former USA youth international and Washington Spirit goalkeeper Chantel Jones, who Glory will look to perform strongly between the sticks.

“Chantel Jones has come highly recommended from (US coach) Tommy Sermanni and will provide a great presence behind our back four after her recent season with Washington Spirit. 

“It is also pleasing to continue our focus on WA talent with the signing of Amy Knights and Kathleen Waycott and bringing over Jess Dillon who grew up in Perth.”

Last season’s Glory Player of the Year Aivi Luik has been included in the roster, but the time frame on her return to playing is still to be determined due to a lingering hamstring injury. 

Perth Glory commence their season away to Newcastle Jets at Wanderers Oval in Broadmeadow on November 9.

Perth Glory 2013/14 Westfield W-League squad

(GK) 1. Chantel JONES, 2. Sarah CARROLL, 3. Cecilie SANDVEJ, 4. Bronwyn STUDMAN, 5. Shannon MAY, 6. Sasha ANDREWS, 7. Aivi LUIK, 8. Ella MASTRANTONIO, 9. Rosie SUTTON, 12. Kate GILL, 13. Elisa D’OVIDIO. 14. (c) Collette McCALLUM, 15. Jess DILLON, 16. Thia EASTMAN, 17. Marianna TABAIN, 18. Amy KNIGHTS, 19. Shawn BILLAM, (GK) 20. Kathleen WAYCOTT, 21. Christina JULIEN