Third-ranked Australia will come up against Argentina (fourth), United States (12th) and hosts Japan (14th) in the five-day tournament in Osaka.

The Four Nations comes after the Hockeyroos’ fourth-place finish at the 2018 Women’s World Cup in London which saw the side rise up two spots to third in the FIH Hero World Rankings.

The event will also give the side a taste of Japanese conditions ahead of the 2020 Tokyo Olympics.

HA High Performance Director Toni Cumpston said: “The Four Nations Tournament is part of an agreement which will also see the Kookaburras visit Japan next year ahead of the 2020 Tokyo Olympics.

“Our focus for the women’s programme is on the 2020 Tokyo Olympics and the Four Nations Tournament is an important step towards that.

“It is an opportunity to acclimatise to Japan and expose our athletes to the conditions we’ll face in Tokyo."

The Hockeyroos team to play at the Four Nations will be announced on Monday 27 August.

The Japan Hockey Association will live stream each game online for free.

Match Schedule:
Wednesday 12 September 2018 5:30pm AEST – Argentina v USA
Wednesday 12 September 2018 7:30pm AEST – Japan v Australia
Thursday 13 September 2018 5:30pm AEST – Australia v Argentina
Thursday 13 September 2018 7:30pm AEST – Japan v USA
Saturday 15 September 2018 3pm AEST – Australia v USA
Saturday 15 September 2018 5pm AEST – Japan v Argentina
Sunday 16 September 2018 2:45pm AEST – Third place play-off
Sunday 16 September 2018 5pm AEST – Final

Originally published on Hockey Australia