Queensland’s Averyl Mitchell, Canberra’s Michaela Leonard and Western Australian Ariana Hira-Herangi will make their Test debut on Saturday afternoon.   

Reserves Eva Karpani, Shannon Mato, Georgia Cormick, Arabella McKenzie and Lori Cramer bring the tally of potential debutants to eight, as the Wallaroos kick-off a four-Test 2019 campaign.

“There was some really tough selections in naming this squad and the competition for places has been intense all week," Nestor said.

“We’ve picked a strong side that rewards form and gives opportunities to new players coming through. 

“Having eight potential debutants is a reflection of how the depth of this squad is growing following on from the second season of Buildcorp Super W, Aon University Sevens and what we have been doing with the national squad."

Australia has only met Japan once previously, with the Wallaroos meeting the world No.16's at the 2017 Rugby World Cup. 

The Wallaroos came away with a 21-15 win in that game.

“We know Japan present a fairly new challenge for us and we can expect them to be a team that wants to recycle the ball quickly to look for space in our defence," Nestor said.

“There’s no doubt they will be looking to disrupt our momentum early and we have to be ready to meet that challenge.” 

The Wallaroos take on Japan at Newcastle Sportsground No.2 at 3pm AEDT on July 13, with the match to be broadcast LIVE on FoxSports and RUGBY.com.au Radio. 

Wallaroos starting XV

1. Emily Robinson
2. Averyl Mitchell*
3. Evelyn Horomia
4. Michaela Leonard* 
5. Alisha Hewett
6. Millie Boyle (vc)
7. Emily Chancellor
8. Grace Hamilton (c)
9. Cobie-Jane Morgan
10. Trileen Pomare
11. Mhicca Carter
12. Ariana Hira-Herangi*
13. Alysia Lefau-Fakaosilea*
14. Samantha Treherne
15. Mahalia Murphy

Reserves: Ashley Marsters, Liz Patu, Eva Karpani*, Rebecca Clough, Shannon Mato*, Georgia Cormick*, Arabella McKenzie*, Lori Cramer*