Adelaide Crows

Adelaide has retained its core AFLW talent, with a further 11 players including Sarah Perkins and Courtney Cramey.

In addition to Perkins and Cramey, sisters Sarah and Jess Allan, midfielders Deni Varnhagen, Jess Sedunary, Sally Riley and Rheanne Lugg, forwards Eloise Jones and Ruth Wallace, and defender Anne Hatchard have all re-committed to the Club.

Adelaide has farewelled premiership defender Talia Radan who has been traded to Melbourne for draft picks.

Adelaide Crows 2019 AFLW List: Erin Phillips, Chelsea Randall, Renee Forth, Ebony Marinoff, Jenna McCormick, Justine Mules, Rhiannon Metcalfe, Dayna Cox, Marijana Rajcic, Stevie-Lee Thompson, Angela Foley, Sarah Perkins, Courtney Camey, Sarah Allan, Jess Allen and Jasmyn Hewett.

Brisbane Lions

Inaugural Club Captain Emma Zielke and the 2018 Best and Fairest Kate Lutkins have both recommitted to the Lions. 

Both players have been with the Club since day one and Lions Women’s CEO Breanna Brock is thrilled they will return in 2019.

“It’s always a great endorsement of your footy club when your Captain and Best and Fairest are back on board for the next season,” Brock said. 

Lutkins, who works for the Defence Force, took the competition by storm in 2018. In her second season she was awarded an All Australian blazer, won the Lions’ Best and Fairest Award and earned a reputation as one of the league’s toughest defenders.

Skilful midfielders Emily Bates and Ally Anderson have also re-signed for 2019, along with key defender Leah Kaslar, hard-running utility Megan Hunt and the energetic Breanna Koenen. 

2018 Rising Star nominee Sophie Conway, powerful forward Bella Ayre and Arianna Clarke will return for their second seasons with the Lions.  

Lions' 2019 AFLW List: Ally Anderson, Lauren Arnell, Emily Bates, Shannon Campbell, Arianna Clarke, Gabby Collingwood, Sophie Conway, Nat Exon, Sabrina Frederick-Traub, Megan Hunt, Leah Kaslar, Breanna Koenen, Kate Lutkins, Kate McCarthy, Emma Pittman, Krystal Scott, Sam Virgo, Sharnie Webb, Jessica Wuetschner, Jordan Zanchetta, Emma Zielke, Bella Ayre

Collingwood Magpies

On the final day of the trade period, Collingwood nabbed three additional selections for the October draft in exchange for Christina Bernardi and Amelia Barden.

The club landed picks 11 and 19 as part of a five-club deal in exchange for 27-year-old forward Bernardi who will head to GWS Giants.

A three-way deal has also seen the club receive pick No. 32 as Barden was traded to Carlton.

“We entered the trade period with an eye on the future and a plan to set ourselves up to secure some of the best young talent in the country through the 2018 draft,” Performance and Strategy Manager Marcus Wagner said.

An additional 11 players put pen to paper including Ash Brazill, Kristy Stratton and Darcy Guttridge all re-signings from the club’s 2017 draft class.

“We invested in the draft in 2017 and are thrilled to have all of our draftees re-sign with the club after seeing some really positive performances from them earlier in the year,” Wagner said.

Collingwood’s AFLW List: Brittany Bonnici, Ash Brazill, Sophie Casey, Stephanie Chiocci, Sarah D’Arcy, Sarah Dargan, Emma Grant, Darcy Guttridge, Nicole Hildebrand, Eliza Hynes, Melissa Kuys, Jaimee Lambert, Stacey Livingstone, Cecilia McIntosh, Chloe Molloy, Georgie Parker, Iilish Ross, Ruby Schleicher, Kristy Stratton, Holly Whitford


Carlton has five confirmed players on its list for 2019 but they are quite the quintet. Original marquee signings Darcy Vescio and Bri Davey have re-signed, as have big name recruits from last year, Tayla Harris and Nicola Stevens. Pie Amelia Barden joins these four after being traded from Collingwood.

The Blues have delisted four players: Madeline Keryk, Laura Attard, Kate Shierlaw and Sarah Last and traded Maddison Gay to Melbourne for pick 21.

Carlton 2019 AFLW List: Darcy Vescio, Bri Davey, Tayla Harris, Nicola Stevens, Amelia Barden

GWS Giants 

The Giants have finalised their list, re-signing a further seven players to the 14 they announced late last week.

Irish Gaelic football legend Cora Staunton is among those who will be back in Western Sydney in 2019, as are midfielders Jodie Hicks, Britt Tully, Maddy Collier, forwards Rebecca Beeson and Jacinda Barclay and rookie Tait Mackrill.

Pie Christina Bernardi also joins the Giants with coach Alan McConnell full of praise for the forward.

“To have an All Australian make the decision to move to the club shows that we’re building a really strong culture here at the Giants” he told the club’s website.

“Christina is an experienced competitive forward, who isn’t afraid of a contest and she will add some fire power to our forward line, while she also has the ability to run in the midfield and win the footy.” 

Bec Privitelli, Alex Saundry, Melissa Freckelton, Philippa Smyth, Haneen Zreika and Renee Tomkins have been delisted.

GWS Giants 2019 AFLW List: Alicia Eva, Jess Dal Pos, Nicola Barr, Tanya Hetherington, Ellie Brush, Aimee Schmidt, Louise Stephenson, Emma Swanson, Amanda Farrugia, Pepa Randall, Elle Bennetts, Erin McKinnon, Courtney Gum, Phoebe Monahan, Cora Staunton, Rebecca Beeson, Jacinda Barclay, Maddy Collier, Jodie Hicks, Britt Tully, Tait Mackrill, Christina Bernardi.


The Dees lost some huge names to Geelong during the expansion signing period but have retained their core midfield trio of captain Daisy Pearce, Karen Paxman and Elise O’Dea.

Melbourne has picked up Carlton’s Maddison Gay with their list manager Todd Patterson telling Melbourne Media: “We pursued her through the pre-listed rookie avenue last season and missed out, so we’re really glad that she’s come across.”

They also gain premiership Crow Talia Radan, a key defender.

Among the departures at the Demons are Jasmine Grierson and Emma Humphries – a Tasmanian native – who have both moved to the Kangaroos while Alyssa Mifsud, Laura Duryea and Maddie Shelvin were not offered contracts for the 2019 season.

Melbourne 2019 AFLW List: Harriet Cordner, Tegan Cunningham, Meg Downie, Maddison Gay, Maddy Guerin, Ashleigh Guest, Kate Hore, Bianca Jakobsson, Ainslie Kemp, Sarah Lampard, Lily Mithen, Aliesha Newman, Elise O’Dea, Brooke Patterson, Karen Paxman, Daisy Pearce, Lauren Pearce, Cat Phillips, Talia Radan, Shelley Scott, Kat Smith, Claudia Whitfort, Eden Zanker

Western Bulldogs

The Dogs have lost Daria Bannister, Emma Kearney and Jenna Bruton to North and Aasta O’Connor to Geelong.

Western Bulldogs 2019 AFLW List:  Brooke Lochland, Ellie Blackburn, Katie Brennan, Kirsten McLeod, Deanna Berry, Monique Conti, Isabel Huntington, Nicole Callinan, Lauren Spark, Ellyse Gamble, Naomi Ferres, Hayley Wildes, Libby Birch, Tiarna Ernst, Bailey Hunt, Hannah Scott, Aisling Utri, Kim Rennie, Emma Mackie, Kirsty Lamb, Bonnie Toogood, Angelica Gogos