New Zealand ran out 37 to eight winners, taking just three minutes to score their first try and never really seeming in doubt on their way to a series clean sweep.

Despite Australia countering early, the Kiwis' pressed valiantly throughout the match and were too strong for Daniel Nestor's women.

Mahalia Murphy scored Australia's only try, with Lori Cramer converting her penalty to restore some dignity to the wounded Wallaroos, who hoped to beat their New Zealand hoodoo after a strong result against Japan earlier in the year.