The FFA joint W-League and A-League awards have been renamed the Dolan Warren Awards.

FFA announced the change as a celebration of two of Australian football's most legendary figures; Julie Dolan and Johnny Warren.

The awards night will see the presentation of the Julie Dolan Medal and Johnny Warren Medal for the top players of the Westfield W-League and Hyundai A-League. FFA CEO David Gallop said it was a significant step to rename the awards night.

“We have held joint awards for the Hyundai A-League and Westfield W-League for the past five years and as these nights have grown in stature and popularity, it’s timely to rebrand them as the Dolan Warren Awards," said Gallop.

“Australian football is proudly saying that the women’s game is not living in a niche, it’s central to our game and our future”

“The renamed awards not only equally honour two legends of the game, Julie Dolan and the late Johnny Warren, but give equal recognition to the Hyundai A-League and Westfield W-League."

"That’s an important message to every boy and girl in the grassroots. Our game is for everyone and we are making a virtue of that.”

Julie Dolan captained Matildas in their first ever international match against New Zealand in 1979 and was awarded the no. 1 cap for Australia’s international women representatives.

While Johnny Warren was captain of the Socceroos and played in Australia’s first ever FIFA World Cup finals match against East Germany in 1974.

The Dolan Warren Awards are set to be held on Tuesday, 26 April 2016 at the Carriageworks in Sydney.  In a first, Fox Sports will broadcast the hour-long event live and from 7pm with Fox Sports' Amy Duggan and Adam Peacock cohosting.

The event will also see the presentation of the NAB Young Footballer of the Year, Coach of the Year, Goalkeeper of the Year, Golden Boot, Goal of the Year and Referee of the Year.