Elise Kellond-Knight's incredible year continued today with the midfielder named to the 2014/15 Professional Footballers Australia (PFA) Women’s Footballer of the Year.

Voted on by her fellow PFA players, it is the second time the 25-year-old has received the honour following her 2011 win.

“I'd like to thank those that voted for me for this award. It's a very proud moment in my career" said Kellond-Knight speak from Germany where she is playing with FFC Turbine Potsdam.

“What makes this even more special is it’s a player voted award. To receive recognition from your teammates is the best type of recognition. It's one that that I value the most, it's one that I respect."

"Your teammates see you train every day and see you play every match so I think their opinion is the most valid one.”


[MORE: Kellond-Knight nominated for 2015 AFC Player of the Year]

Kellond-Knight won the vote ahead of Emily van Egmond, Laura Alleway and 2013 winner Sam Kerr and doing so became the first player to win the award twice.

As when she last won the award in 2011, Kellond-Knight was a standout player for the Matildas during their historic 2015 FIFA Women's World Cup win.

The defensive midfielder finished the tournament with two Player of the Match awards and receiving in a second Team of the Tournament selection.

“Elise was outstanding at the World Cup and she showed the world just how good she is,” said fellow nominee and PFA Executive Member Lydia Williams.

“The World Cup was an historic moment for Australian football and she played a key part in that being the case.”

[MORE: Kellond-Knight named in WWC Team of the Tournament]

Kellond-Knight has also been nominated for the 2015 AFC Women's Player of the Year for the first time.

PFA Chief Executive Adam Vivian paid tribute to her year.

“On behalf of all of our members I would like to congratulate Elise,” he said.

“Over the course of the 2014/15 season she was consistently outstanding and played a starring role in the Matildas success.”

The PFA Awards are supported by PFA Major Partner LUCRF Super and Travellers Choice.

PFA Footballer of the Year

2010: Servet Uzunlar

2011: Elise Kellond-Knight

2012: Lydia Williams

2013: Sam Kerr

2014: Katrina Gorry