Current Diamonds captain Caitlin Bassett and vice-captain Gabi Simpson will lead the Australian side for the Games.

While Laura Geitz joins the Diamonds for the first time since the 2015 Constellation Cup.

Defensive trio April Brandley, Courtney Bruce, Jo Weston, midcourters Gabi Simpson and Liz Watson, and shooter Stephanie Wood have earnt their maiden Commonwealth Games selections.

Five members of the 2014 team who broke Australia’s Commonwealth Games netball gold medal drought including Bassett, Geitz, Kim Ravaillion, Madi Robinson and Thwaites have all be selected.

Veteran shooter Susan Pettitt has also been named, after missing selection for the 2014 Commonwealth Games and 2015 Netball World Cup teams. Pettitt holds two Commonwealth Games silver medals from 2006 and 2010.

Head coach Lisa Alexander said it was the toughest selection she has had to make, alongside National Selectors Anne Sargeant and Michelle Wilkins.

“It was an enormously difficult selection, there’s no other way to say it,” explained Alexander.

“What we have done is try to pick a team on form, on who is performing now.”

“We needed to ensure that we had flexibility within the team, through different combinations and the ability for athletes to play multiple positions if required,” she said.

Australia opens its 2018 Gold Coast Commonwealth Games campaign against Northern Ireland on Thursday 5 April.