Canberra's core commit for Season Four | TWG Canberra's core commit for Season Four | TWG

Matildas international goalkeeper Lydia Williams is one of a dozen players confirmed for Canberra United’s squad for Season Four of the Westfield W-League.

“We are delighted that Lydia has committed to the club for season four of the competition,” Canberra United CEO Heather Reid stated.

“As you would expect there was plenty of interest in Lydia from other clubs around the league but her signing on for a fourth successive year confirms her allegiance to the team and we look forward to, once more, having the pre-eminent goalkeeper in the women’s game in our ranks.”

The Canberra custodian is one of only two players, along with Ellie Brush, who has played in all 34 matches that United has competed in since the club since the inaugural season of the W-League in 2008.

Williams is joined by the bulk of Canberra's experienced core from last season for the upcoming 2011/12 W-League. Tradies Premier League Golden Boot winner and former Matildas striker Caitlin Munoz, as well as Matildas internationals Sally Shipard, Michelle Heyman and Ellyse Perry. International experience is added by midfielder Leah Blayney, who returns after her first season with the Boston Breakers in the US Women's Professional Soccer, and newly signed New Zealand international goalkeeper Aroon Clansey.

Youth is also represented in local product Kahlia Hogg, recently selected for the Young Matildas upcoming World Cup qualifiers, as well as the Sykes twins, Nicole and Ashleigh.

With 7 contracts still available, Head Coach Jitka Klimkova set to make decisions in relation to further squad members with several overseas signings in the next fortnight.. Canberra United take on Adelaide United away in the October 22nd season opener away, a match that doubles as a curtain raiser to the Reds Hyundai A-League match with Sydney FC.


NameAppearances (Goals)
Lydia Williams34 (0)
Leah Blayney3 (1)
Ellie Brush34 (8)
Aroon Clanseynew for 2011/12
Caitlin Cooper11 (1)
Michelle Heyman11 (7)
Kahlia Hogg10 (1)
Caitlin Munoz18 (8)
Ellyse Perry18 (2)
Sally Shipard11 (0)
Ashleigh Sykes20 (4)
Nicole Sykes22 (0)