Looking to make history | (Credit: Getty Images) Looking to make history | (Credit: Getty Images)

Two times Westfield W-League champions, and current title holders, Brisbane Roar have announced their squad for the Season Four of the W-League.  Led by captain Clare Polkinghorne, the Queensland side will be gunning to make history and obtain back-to-back titles in 2011/12.

As in previous seasons, coach Jeff Hopkins retained the bulk of the squad including foundation players Polkinghorne, Casey Dumont, Kim Carroll, Elise Kellond-Knight, Lana Harch and Tameka Butt, just to name a few.

However the Champions aren't without their big losses with striker Lisa De Vanna joining Newcastle and influential midfielder Lauren Colthorpe missing the season after being required to undergo a knee reconstruction earlier in the year.

A surprise inclusion in the Roar squad is former Sydney FC striker Catherine Canulli who will look to pair up with Young Matildas starlet Emily Gielnik as well as the proven attacking force of Butt and Harch.  Others to wear the orange for the first time include Ashley Spina and Japanese goalkeeper Hoshimi Kishi.

Meanwhile Brisbane welcome back a couple of familiar names with 19 year old Vedrana Popovic returning from her time in Melbourne and Adelaide and utility Sasha McDonnell is also back after a season with the Jets

Brisbane Roar begin their quest for back to back titles this Saturday as they take on Sydney FC in a grand final rematch at Leichhardt Oval, Sydney. The match will be live on ABC1 from 3pm AEDT (3pm AEDST).

Brisbane Roar Westfield W-League 2011/12 squad: 1. Casey DUMONT, 2. Laura ALLEWAY, 3. Karla REUTER, 4. Clare POLKINGHORNE, 5. Brooke SPENCE, 6. Joanne BURGESS, 7. Kim CARROLL, 8. Elise KELLOND-KNIGHT, 9. Catherine CANNULI, 10. Lana HARCH, 11. Aivi LUIK, 12. Ashley SPINA, 13. Tameka BUTT, 14. Vedrana POPOVIC, 15. Sasha McDONNELL, 17. Emily GIELNIK, 19. Ellen BEAUMONT, 20. Hoshimi KISHI