Credit: Getty Images Credit: Getty Images

Brisbane Roar goalkeeper and German captain Nadine Angerer has been named as one of three finalists for the FIFA Women's Player of the Year.

Angerer is joined on the shortlist by US record breaking striker and reigning Ballon D'Or winner Abby Wambach and five time winner Marta.

Reduced from 10 nominees to three finalists, the Ballon D'Or is voted on by the captain, coach and a media representative from most of the FIFA nations. The finalists are the players with the top three collated votes.

For Angerer it is recognition of the fine year the German custodian has had, particularly in leading her nation to their sixth straight European Championship and voted the UEFA Women's Player of the Year.

This is the first time Angerer has been named a finalist but fourth career nomination.

In the coaching category Angerer's national team coach Silvia Neid has been named as a finalist for FIFA Coach of the Year (Womens) as has VfL Wolfsburg’s treble winning coach Ralf Kellermann and Swedish coach and incumbent Pia Sundhage.

Angerer is currently recovering from a quad strain but is set to be back in action for Brisbane Roar this week.

The Ballon D'Or winner will be announced at a gala event at the Zurich Kongresshaus on 13 January 2014.