Roar with an unprecedented 19 Queenslanders in the 20 player squad Roar with an unprecedented 19 Queenslanders in the 20 player squad

2012/13 Premiers Brisbane Roar have released their squad for Season Six of the W-League with the 20 player squad boasting 19 Queenslanders.

Head Coach Belinda Wilson is pleased to see the squad dominated by home grown talent including nine Matildas, three Young Matildas, three U17 Matildas and three Queensland Academy of Sport players.

“I’m very confident in the players we’ve got at the club this season and I’ve seen some promising signs throughout our pre-season preparations,” said Wilson.

“In any playing group, it’s important to maintain the right mix of experience and youth and it’s clear to see that we have that here at Brisbane Roar."

“With the current depth in the squad, I think we can make a real push for success in this year’s W-League season.”

The only non-Queenslander and international is German captain and recently named UEFA European Female Footballer of the Year goalkeeper Nadine Angerer.

The squad also sees the return of veteran Joanne Burgess and Matildas defender Kim Carroll from season ending knee injuries.  As with last season the Roar have also been successful in luring home Queensland talent from other W-League sides with Larissa Crummer (Sydney FC) and Hayley Raso (Canberra United) to pull on the orange this season.

Matildas captain and reigning Julie Dolan Medallist Clare Polkinghorne will once again captain the side with Elise Kellond-Knight as her deputy.

This season, Brisbane Roar Women will have the backing of a major sponsor for the first time in their short history with principal partner Brisbane Airport Corporation signing on for the Westfield W-League 2013/14 campaign.

Fans can now purchase a Brisbane Roar W-League specific membership this season:

The season will kick off on Saturday, 9 November with a home fixture against traditional rivals Canberra United at AJ Kelly Park. Kick off is at 3pm. 

Brisbane Roar W-League 2013/14 squad

Nadine ANGERER (gk), Laura ALLEWAY, Joanne BURGESS, Tameka BUTT, Kim CARROLL, Amy CHAPMAN, Larissa CRUMMER, Erika ELZE, Sunny FRANCO, Emily GIELNIK, Brooke GOODRICH, Katrina GORRY, Elise KELLOND-KNIGHT, Ayesha NORRIE, Clare POLKINGHORNE, Vedrana POPOVIC, Hayley RASO, Brooke SPENCE, Kate STEWART (gk), Natasha WHEELER