When one wins a World Cup in April, one does not need to change much in May.  This is exactly what Cricket Australia have done when naming the squad for the upcoming Tri-Series and Commonwealth Games.

Tri-Series and Commonwealth Games Squad

  • Cricket Australia have named their 15-player squad for the upcoming Tri-Series against Ireland and Pakistan and the subsequent Commonwealth Games.
  • No changes were made to the side who won the 2022 ICC Women's Cricket World Cup last month.
  • The only switch was the side's head coach, with Shelley Nitschke taking over as interim head coach.

More Australian Women's cricket news can be found on The Women's Game.

The Aussie Women will only have one major change in their camp, with  former head coach Matthew Mott leaving his position after the World Cup.  Shelley Nitschke has been named as interim head coach and will lead the side through the Tri-Series.

This Tri-Series that will be held first, with the Aussie Women meeting Pakistan and Ireland twice each in mid-June.  The series will take place in south of Derry/Londonderry in Northern Ireland at the Bready Cricket Club.

It will serve as a warm up for this year's Commonwealth Games to be held in Birmingham, England. Australia have been drawn in Group A of the competition, to face India, Barbados and Pakistan in late July and early August.

Australian captain Meg Lanning spoke of the opportunity to compete at a Commonwealth Games and her excitement ahead of the event.

"To be there with athletes from badminton, squash, lawn bowls and a host of other sports is going to be a wonderful new experience for our players to embrace," Lanning said to Cricket Australia.

"We've all grown up watching the Commonwealth Games on TV, seeing Australian athletes inspire the rest of the country, and we're hoping to do the same."

The squad who will travel to Britain with Lanning is as follows:

  • Meg Lanning (c)
  • Rachael Haynes (vc)
  • Darcie Brown
  • Nicola Carey
  • Ashleigh Gardner
  • Grace Harris
  • Alyssa Healy
  • Jess Jonassen
  • Alana King
  • Tahlia McGrath
  • Beth Mooney
  • Ellyse Perry
  • Megan Schutt
  • Annabel Sutherland
  • Amanda-Jade Wellington

Ellyse Perry is currently selected as a batter only, with the Aussie All-Rounder still recovering from a lower back stress fracture.  Notable absences from the squad include Georgia Redmayne, Tayla Vlaeminck and Sophie Molineaux who are all recovering from injuries.

T-20 Tri Series Schedule

July 16: Australia v Pakistan

July 17: Australia v Ireland

July 21: Australia v Ireland

July 23: Australia v Pakistan

All matches start 3pm local time, midnight AEST.

Birmingham Commonwealth Games Schedule

July 29 v India - 11am local time, 8pm AEST

July 31 v Barbados - 6pm local, 3am Aug 1 AEST

August 3 v Pakistan - 11am local, 8pm AEST

Semi-finals: August 6, 11am local, 8pm AEST and 6pm local, 3am Aug 7 AEST

Bronze medal match: August 7, 10am local, 7pm AEST

Gold medal match: August 7, 5pm local, 2am Aug 8 AEST


'Football in her blood' - A Matildas' rise to the pinnacle of European footy

Matildas defender Ellie Carpenter has the world at her feet, and according to her former coach it is only the beginning.


Matildas to face 'fierce competitor' Portugal next month

The Matildas have added a friendly with Portugal to follow their clash with Spain in Europe in June as the countdown continues to next year's Women's World Cup.


Canberra United announce new A-League head coach

Canberra United announced the appointment of their head coach for their Season 15 of the A-League Women.

More information can be found at Cricket Australia.