The 2022 Women's Cricket World Cup starts this week, with Australia's first match occurring on Saturday, March 5, 2022.  The Australian Women open their title run with a match against defending champions England. 

2022 Women's Cricket World Cup

  • The 2022 ICC Women's Cricket World Cup is being held in New Zealand. 
  • The ODI international competition is taking place between March 4 and April 3, 2022.
  • England enter the competition as defending champions.

More Australian Women's cricket news can be found on The Women's Game.

The 2022 Summer Cricket season continues for the Australian Women with the 2022 ICC Women's Cricket World Cup commencing on Saturday for Australia.  They will meet England first whom they beat in the Ashes earlier last month.  

This year's competition is being held entirely in New Zealand, with the opening match having occurred on Match 4.  The final is schedule for April 3, 2022.

For their title run Australia have brought fifteen women across the Tasman:

Two additional members, Heather Graham and Georgia Redmayne are also with the squad as reserve players.  Hannah Darlington was originally named as a reserve but was replaced by Graham after she withdrew from the squad.

For their opening match against England, Australia have named Alyssa Healy (wk), Rachel Haynes, Meg Lanning (c), Ellyse Perry, Beth Mooney, Tahlia McGrath, Annabel Sutherland, Jess Jonassen, Alana King, Megan Schutt and Darcie Brown.

Ashleigh Garner was unavailable and will continue to be in the second match after having tested positive for Covid-19 earlier this week. 

Like all other nations competing, the Australian women will play seven rounds facing every other country in the competition: Bangladesh, England, India, New Zealand, Pakistan, South Africa and the West Indies. Their schedule is as follows:

The top four teams after the rounds will progress to a two stage knockout stage.  While Australia made it to the knock-out round last competition, they were eliminated in the semi-finals by India. 

England are the defending champions, having won the competition on four occasions.  Australia last won the ODI World Cup in 2013, their sixth time hoisting the trophy.  The only other nation to have won it is New Zealand in 2000.


Siemsen focused on Sky Blues' A-League goal

Sydney FC can clinch the A-League Women's premiers' plate with a win over Adelaide and forward Remy Siemsen says there is no excuse for slipping up now.


Matildas ambition driving Roar's Crummer

Her injury woes seemingly very much in the past, Brisbane Roar forward Larissa Crummer says she's far from finished with her Matildas career.

More Ashes information can be found at Cricket Australia.