Australia has been draw in Group 1 of the 2018 Algarve Cup to be held in the Algarve region of Portugal.

The Matildas have been drawn alongside hosts Portugal, Norway and AFC compatriots Korea Republic.

It is Australia's second successive trip to the annual women's football invitational and sees them return after a fourth place showing in early 2017.

Running from 28 February - 7 March 2018, the 24th edition of the tournament will see many of the world's top 15 nations taking part including European champions the Netherlands, EURO 2017 runners up Denmark, Olympic silver medallists Sweden and bronze medallists Canada.

For Australia, it will be the start of their Road to France 2019 with the four matches of the Algarve Cup forming Australia's preparation for the 2018 AFC Women's Asian Cup to be held in Jordan a month later.

With Australia set to rise to number four in the upcoming FIFA World Rankings, the Matildas could be the highest ranked nation of the tournament due to the United States, Germany, England and France all participating in the SheBelieves Cup.

As for the tournament itself, the 12 teams will play round  robin format with the teams ranked to determine placement matches.

Fox Sports broadcast all 2017 Australian Algarve Cup matches live and with the broadcaster set to show the Asian Cup, there reasonable probability the 2018 matches will be available to the Australian public.


Group 1

Norway (14th) **

Australia (6th)

South Korea (15th)

Portugal (34th)

Group 2

Sweden (11th)

Canada (5th)

China (13th)

Russia 25º)

Group 3

Denmark (12th)

Netherlands (7th)

Japan (8th)

Iceland (21st)