A 20 player squad has been named for the Matildas upcoming two match series against Brazil to be held on 16 and 19 September 2017.

Alen Stajcic has kept faith with the bulk of the squad that assisted Australia to a clean sweep in July/August's Tournament of Nations in the United States.

2017 FIFA World Player of the Year nominee Sam Kerr headlines the Matildas alongside 2017 AFC Player of the Year Caitlin Foord and recent Matildas goalscoring record holder Lisa De Vanna.

“There is a great buzz within this squad to come home and play and perform in front of large home crowds in Penrith and Newcastle,” Stajcic said. “It will be a privilege to host Brazil and the team can’t wait for the matches.”

“Our (Westfield Matildas) staff are in contact with the players daily and we have access to a lot of footage of the girls playing abroad, and it has been fantastic to see so many of our girls performing consistently at a high level.”

Young Matildas Alex Chidiac and Princess Ibini have been left off the squad ahead of the Young Matildas AFC U19 Championships preparations.

Kyah Simon and Michelle Heyman are also unavailable as they continue their recovery from long term injuries and surgery but will train with the team, alongside Amy Harrison.

With both Australia and Brazil ranked in the top 10 the matches will be further key opportunities for Australia to build depth ahead of the 2018 AFC Asian Cup.


Brazil have selected a stronger squad than the one that was soundly defeated 6-1 by Australia at the Tournament of Nations.

World superstar Marta will play in Australia for the first time while Brazilian stars Cristiane, Fabiana, Andressa Alves, Rafaelle and Camila will ensure a close contest between these two nations that have built up a strong rivalry.

Both matches in the series will be broadcast live on Fox Sports and ABC TV.


GOALKEEPERS: Lydia Williams (Melbourne City / Houston Dash), Mackenzie Arnold (Brisbane Roar)

DEFENDERS: Steph Catley (Melbourne City / Orlando Pride), Ellie Carpenter (Canberra United), Clare Polkinghorne (Brisbane Roar), Alanna Kennedy (Orlando Pride), Caitlin Cooper (WS Wanderers), Gema Simon (Newcastle United / Avaldsnes IL), Laura Alleway (Melbourne Victory), Georgia Yeoman-Dale (Sydney FC)

MIDFIELDERS: Katrina Gorry (Brisbane Roar/ Vegalta Sendai), Elise Kellond-Knight (Turbine Potsdam), Emily van Egmond (Wolfsburg), Chloe Logarzo (Newcastle Jets / Avaldsnes IL), Tameka Butt (Klepp)

FORWARDS: Lisa De Vanna (South Melbourne), Caitlin Foord (Sydney FC / Vegalta Sendai), Emily Gielnik (Brisbane Roar / Avaldsnes IL), Sam Kerr (Perth Glory / Sky Blue FC), Hayley Raso (Portland Thorns)


Australia v Brazil

Pepper Stadium

Saturday 16 September 2017

Kick off Time:  3.00pm (AEST)

Australia v Brazil

Newcastle Stadium

Tuesday 19 September 2017

Kick-off Time: 7:30pm (AEST)