Matildas Head Coach Alen Stajcic named a 32-player squad for a January 2015 training camp at the Australian Institute of Sport in Canberra.

Running from 12 – 15 January, the training camp is the first step in the Matildas preparation for the 2015 FIFA Women’s World Cup.

It will be the first chance for Stajcic to get together with the playing group since his appointment in September 2014.

“I’ve had a good look at all the players throughout the Westfield W-League season and I am happy with the group of players that I have selected for this camp,” said Stajcic.

“There is a balance of youth and experience in the squad and it will be a good starting point for our intense preparation period.”

Stajcic has recalled a number of players including Ellie Brush, Danielle Brogan and Hayley Crawford while 15 year old South Australian Alex Chidiac earns her first call up to a national team training camp.

Meanwhile Kyah Simon returns after a year off due to an ACL injury.

“This is by no means a final squad as there are number of players returning from injury that are still in contention for selection.

“It’s now up to the players to make the step up and show the coaching staff why they deserve to go to the World Cup,” concluded Stajcic.

Stajcic is in the process of confirming the details of the Westfield Matildas preparation program for the 2015 FIFA Women’s World Cup and is excited to start off the new year with an intense training camp.

Matildas have been drawn in Group D of the FIFA Women’s World Cup 2015 alongside USA, Sweden and Nigeria.

Westfield Matildas Squad – AIS Training camp - 12 to 15 January 2015



Teigen AllenSydney FC
Laura AllewayBrisbane Roar FC
Melissa Barberi (gk)Adelaide United
Nicola BolgerSydney FC
Danielle BroganAdelaide United
Ellie BrushCanberra United
Tameka ButtBrisbane Roar FC
Kim CarrollBrisbane Roar FC
Steph CatleyMelbourne Victory
Emma CheckerMelbourne Victory
Alex ChidiacAdelaide United
Hayley CrawfordNewcastle Jets
Larissa CrummerBrisbane Roar FC
Brianna Davey (gk)Melbourne Victory
Lisa De VannaMelbourne Victory
Casey Dumont (gk)Sydney FC
Caitlin FoordPerth Glory
Kate GillPerth Glory
Katrina GorryBrisbane Roar FC
Amy HarrisonSydney FC
Michelle HeymanCanberra United
Elise Kellond-KnightBrisbane Roar FC
Alanna KennedyPerth Glory
Teresa PoliasSydney FC
Clare PolkinghoreBrisbane Roar FC
Hayley RasoBrisbane Roar FC
Gema SimonMelbourne Victory
Kyah SimonSydney FC
Ashleigh SykesCanberra United
Marianna TabainPerth Glory
Emily van-EgmondNewcastle Jets
Servet UzunlarSydney FC