Geelong and North Melbourne are due to be added to the competition for the 2019 season. Both teams presented list strategies to the AFL last week outlining which players they would be approaching.

The Expansion Signing Period will commence from Friday, May 11 and will continue until Monday, May 21.

Between these dates, only four players from any one club can transfer to the expansion clubs, unless agreed by the clubs and the AFL.

Geelong Cats and North Melbourne can approach players, with the players’ 2018 clubs having the right to make a counter offer. The AFL will approve all player movements before a player is signed.

Geelong Cats and North Melbourne will continue their list development during the NAB AFLW Trade Period and the NAB AFLW Draft.

Another key change announced today, in 2019 the AFLW player payment structure will be expanded to four tiers.

Clubs will have flexibility with regards to the number of players in each tier, but clubs will be permitted to a maximum of three players in tier one.

Head of Women’s Football Nicole Livingstone said the expansion signing period is ready to commence now the 2019 tiered payment structure has been approved by the AFL Players’ Association.

“This is another exciting step for our competition. We have worked closely with the AFLPA to ensure we have a payment structure that is appropriate at this stage of the competition,” she said.

“Welcoming more players into the competition has allowed us to expand the payment structure. This will also give the clubs more flexibility with their list management.

“Further discussion between the AFL and the AFLPA will determine actual player payments. This will take place once the 2019 program and associated revenue is confirmed.”

Key AFLW dates

May 4                         Expansion Clubs presented their list strategies to the AFL

May 11-21                  Expansion signing period commences / closes

May 22                       2018 NAB AFLW Draft order set

May 23 - June 4         Sign & Trade period commences / closes

June 4 - 7                   Free agency period commences / closes

June 8                        Preliminary List Lodgement