“We have had tremendous reaction to our first two seasons, overall growth of female participants around Australia has continued to thrive and now is the time to cultivate the talent pathways, grow audiences and commercial interest," AFL Head of Women’s Football Nicole Livingstone said.

"We see the AFLW Competition Committee as the next critical step for the women’s game,” she said.

All 10 current AFLW clubs and the four future expansion clubs; St Kilda, Richmond, West Coast Eagles and Gold Coast Suns were briefed on the committee.

Similar to the men’s Competition Committee, committee members will be comprised of but not limited to; the AFL Commission, AFL executive, club CEOs, AFL and AFLW football general managers, AFL and AFLW senior coaches, the AFL Players Association and AFLW players.

Membership of the committee will be for a maximum three years and will meet three times a year with the first set to commence early next month.