The geographical location of each club selected has played a major role in the decision-making process according to NRL CEO Todd Greenberg.

The idea was to spread the competition across two states and two countries to cover as many areas as possible and expansion plan are on the horizon in the future. has said the Broncos and Roosters' inclusions were strategy based, with each club representing Brisbane and Sydney, while the Warriors had a strong application given the dominant New Zealand Kiwi Ferns are set to feature heavily in the squad.

Clubs will now begin a contract process to recruit players with more than 100 required across the four squads.

This also includes the top 40 contracted elite players who will be spread across the teams (10 per team) in the equalisation system. 

There were originally six-teams who has bid for licenses but the South Sydney Rabbitohs and Cronulla Sharks have missed out, which came as shock.

The Sharks had been pioneers in 2017 having launched the Cronulla Sharks Women's Series team and hosting the Women's Rugby League World Cup. 

Greenberg has indicated there was a fear over short-term player quality and workload.

The news completes a historic occasion for the female competitions with the first ever women's State of Origin set to feature as part of the standalone representative weekend in June.

The competition is set to kick-off in August.