The Women's Big Bash League returns tomorrow for its seventh season's opener.  It will kick off with Ellyse Perry and Alyssa Healy's Sydney Sixers facing Meg Lanning's Melbourne Stars.  The game, and the beginning of the seventh season, will take place in Tasmania.

Women's Big Bash League|07

  • Beginning of the season to take place in Tasmanian Hub
  • Second half will be split between SA, WA and Queensland
  • Squads locked in for upcoming season
  • All matches will be broadcast on television

Like last year's competition, COVID-19 restrictions have required the league to start their season in a hub.  This year the first twenty four games of the season will be held in Hobart and Launceston in Tasmania.  

The league will then shift to South Australia, Western Australia and Queensland for the remainder of the season. No games are scheduled in Victoria or New South Wales.  Both states may be able to host finals should current restrictions change.  

The full WBBL|07 schedule for the competition is as follows:

On top of finalizing the schedule, the WBBL team's rosters have also been locked in.  They are as follows:

Adelaide Strikers

Marquees: Megan Schutt, Tahlia McGrath, Darcie Brown (all Aus), Laura Wolvaardt, Dane van Niekerk (both SA)

Brisbane Heat

Marquees: Jess Jonassen (Aus), Poonam Yadav (Ind), Nadine de Klerk, Anneke Bosch (both SA)

Hobart Hurricanes

Marquees: Nicola Carey (Aus), Rachel Priest (NZ), Mignon du Preez (SA), Richa Ghosh (Ind)

Melbourne Renegades

Marquees: Sophie Molineux, Georgia Wareham (both Aus), Jemimah Rodrigues, Harmanpreet Kaur (both Ind), Eve Jones (Eng)

Melbourne Stars

Marquees: Meg Lanning, Annabel Sutherland (both Aus), Kim Garth (Ire), Maia Bouchier (Eng), Linsey Smith (Eng)

Perth Scorchers

Marquees: Beth Mooney (Aus), Sophie Devine (NZ), Chamari Athapaththu (SL), Marizanne Kapp (SA)

Sydney Sixers

Marquees: Ellyse Perry, Ashleigh Gardner, Alyssa Healy (all Aus), Shafali Verma, Radha Yadav (both Ind)

Note: The Sixers have announced that Erin Burns will miss the WBBL opening rounds for personal reasons.

Sydney Thunder

Marquees: Smriti Mandhana, Deepti Sharma (both Ind), Issy Wong (Eng)

Note: Captain Rachael Haynes will not be part of the squad after deciding to put family first after the birth of her son.

All 59 games will be broadcast on television.  Fans will be able to watch 24 games free-to-air on Seven, simulcast on Foxtel and Kayo.  The remaining matches will only be on Foxtel and Kayo.  They will also all be available on


Ellyse Perry's record breaking series: ‘Fitting milestone for remarkable person’

Ellyse Perry has continued to add to her already impressive career highlights during Australia's most recent series win against India.


‘Pretty amazing’: Phoenix announce first A-League Women's coach

The Wellington Phoenix have made their first major announcements with regards to their 2021-22 inaugural A-League Women’s season set-up.

The full WBBL|07 television schedule can be found using the following link.