The women's national team squad has had fifteen players awarded contracts. This number is five less than the men's squad size, mainly due to the different squad requirements of the women's game who play fewer test matches.

The contract list is not final though.  Players who have missed out can be added later on in the year by accumulating 12 upgrade points.  Female players are awarded four points for a test match and two for each ODI and T20.

The Southern Stars receiving contracts for the 2020/21 period are Nicola Carey, Ashleigh Garner, Rachael Haynes, Alyssa Healy, Jess Jonassen, Delissa Kimmince, Meg Lanning, Tahlia McGrath, Sophie Molineux, Beth Mooney, Ellyse Perry, Megan Schutt, Annabel Sutherland, Tayla Vlaeminck and Georgia Wareham.  

Three players from last year's list, Nicole Bolton, Elyse Villani, and Erin Burns did not make this year's list. New to the list are young players Tayla Vlaeminck and Annabel Sutherland.

Tahlia McGrath has made a reappearance on this year's list, having last been awarded a contract in 2017.  While a surprise to some, McGrath's addition as a fast-bowling allrounder will help cover for Ellyse Perry and Tayla Vlaeminck who are currently unavailable due to injury.

At present how much players will be paid has not specified.  As players receive a percentage pool of Cricket Australia's projected revenue, this year's salary is unknown with the current fixture calendar up in the air.

Ellyse Perry has stated that as international play is unlikely in the near future, this does give Cricket Australia an opportunity to be "really inventive" with domestic competitions.  Specifically, Perry believes that the Women's Big Bash League could fill the gap created by the lack of international play.