This is Kerr's second nomination for the honour but like last year the 24-year-old West Australian is a shock omission from the final three cut.

Kerr was beaten out by Norwegian striker Ada Hegerberg, 23, German national team captain Dzsenifer Marozsán, 26, and perennial finalist and Brazilian legend Marta. 

The results are made up from votes by national team coaches, team captains, journalists and fans.

Matildas coach Alen Stajcic made the top 10 nominees for Best Women's Coach but also missed the final cut. 

McGree finalist for Puskas Awards

In 2017 Kerr set a new NWSL record when she scored four goals in a single game before eventually being awarded the NWSL Golden Boot and MVP award after finishing the 2017 season with a record-breaking 17 goals.

The 24-year-old now sits atop the all-time NWSL goalscoring table.

She became the fourth Australian to win the 2017 AFC Women’s Player of the Year award in November last year.

In Australia, Kerr was the joint Julie Dolan medal winner alongside Clare Polkinghorne for the 2017/18 W-League season and was also the Golden Boot winner.

Meanwhile Stajcic took the Matildas to their highest ever FIFA ranking of fourth in December 2017 and they still remain in the top 10 after the latest release.

He has also overseen friendly wins against China and Brazil while in 2018 the Matildas finished fourth at the Algarve Cup and were runners-up to Japan in the Asian Cup.

The awards are based on coaches and players respective achievements during the period from 7 August 2017 to 24 May 2018 inclusive and compiled by a panel of experts representing all of FIFA’s confederations.

All award winners will be revealed at The Best FIFA Football Awards show in London on 24 September with the final nominees to be announced between now and then.

Other finalists: