Kerr – a two-time nominee for FIFA Best Women's Player of the Year – completes a field of 15 players nominated by the editorial staff of French publication France Football.

The 2018 winner will be announced in Paris on December 3 marking the first time in the 62-year history of the prestigious award that female players will be recognised.

It caps another stunning year for the 24-year-old West Australian who recently became the first FFA-back marquee player in the W-League when she re-signed with Perth Glory for the upcoming 2018/19 campaign.


Lucy Bronze (ENG / Lyon)
Pernille Harder (DEN / Wolfsburg)
Ada Hegerberg (NOR / Lyon)
Amandine Henry (FRA / Lyon)
Lindsey Horan (USA / Portland)
Sam Kerr (AUS / Chicago)
Fran Kirby (ENG / Chelsea)
Saki Kumagai (JPN / Lyon)
Dzsenifer Marozsan (GER / Lyon)
Amel Majri (FRA / Lyon)
Marta (BRA / Orlando)
Lieke Martens (NED / Barcelona)
Megan Rapinoe (USA / Seattle)
Wendie Renard (FRA / Lyon)
Christine Sinclair (CAN / Portland)


Kerr has been on top of her game for the past two seasons.

In 2017 while playing for Sky Blue FC, she set a new NWSL record, scoring four goals in a single game, before eventually being awarded the NWSL Golden Boot and MVP award after finishing the season with a record-breaking 17 goals.

Traded for the 2018 season, Kerr was vital in helping the Chicago Red Stars reach the playoffs, scoring 16 goals and winning the Golden Boot for the second consecutive season.

She sits atop the all-time NWSL goalscoring table.

Kerr became the fourth Australian to win the 2017 AFC Women’s Player of the Year award in November last year.

She was the joint Julie Dolan medal winner alongside Clare Polkinghorne for the 2017/18 W-League season and was also the Golden Boot winner.