The announcement follows several changes to the awards night in past years to reflect the shifting landscape of Australian cricket and, in particular, the increasing recognition of women’s cricket and the popularity of the T20 format.

The event is held on an annual basis to celebrate the performances of Australian players across national and domestic cricket, and is headlined by the Belinda Clark Award and Allan Border Medal, awarded to the female and male cricket of the year respectively.

Australian Cricketers’ Association CEO Alistair Nicholson said: “This event has a rich history and updating the name to the Australian Cricket Awards is a very positive step in recognising the current state of the game.

“Whether current-day players or our past legends, this event is a great opportunity to recognise some outstanding achievements, and for the players to celebrate with their peers.”

The decision was taken after talks between Cricket Australia and the Australian Cricketers’ Association.

Cricket Australia CEO Kevin Roberts added: “We are very proud of the history of cricket’s premier awards and have taken the opportunity to change the name to reflect the evolution of the sport that has taken place in the years since the Allan Border Medal and the Belinda Clark Award, were first introduced.

“The Australian Cricket Awards will be a wonderful celebration of our sport and an occasion that highlights the achievement, passion and dedication of our women’s and men’s players across all formats of the game.”

The 2019 Australian Cricket Awards will be held on Monday 11 February 2019 at The Crown Palladium, Melbourne.