The 37-cap Socceroo enjoyed a successful first season with Huddersfield Town in the Premier League, in which the Terriers survived the drop, and followed that up by representing Australia at the FIFA World Cup in Russia.

Mooy played every minute of all three group games against France, Denmark and Peru. No other player in the tournament completed as many successful crosses in the group stage as the 27-year-old former Melbourne City and Western Sydney midfielder.

The Harry Kewell Medal, attributed to the best young player, was given, unsurprisingly, to 19-year-old Daniel Arzani, following his remarkable breakthrough in senior football which culminated in his inclusion in Bert van Marwijk's World Cup squad.

Sam Kerr was named Women's Footballer of the Year for the second time in a row. The 24-year-old striker's goals helped to fire the Matildas to glory in the inaugural Tournament of Nations last July.

She set a new NWSL record scoring 17 goals in a single season and took out the MVP Award for the league in 2017.

The 24-year-old was also named the AFC Women’s Football of the Year as well as being named the Julie Dolan Medal for the 2016/17 season and joint winner for the 2017/18 season.

Kerr was also awarded the Young Australian of the Year and she currently plays for the Chicago Red Stars in the NWSL.

Adelaide United's 19-year-old midfielder Alex Chidiac claimed the Young Women's Footballer prize. This was the second year she had won the award after staring with both the Matildas and Young Matildas. 

She scored her first senior international goal against Thailand during a friendly in Perth ahead of the Asian Cup. 

The night's highest individual honour, the PFA Alex Tobin OAM Medal, went to former Young Socceroos and Central Coast Mariners head coach Paul Okon to honour the 46-year-old's "fantastic career and outstanding contribution to Australian football."

The PFA (Professional Footballers Australia) was marking its 25th anniversary with a gala dinner at the ANZ Stadium, celebrating players, coaches and administrators past and present.

2018 PFA Awards in full:

PFA Community Medal - Nigel Boogaard (Newcastle Jets)
PFA Young Women's Footballer of the Year - Alex Chidiac (Adelaide United)
PFA Women's Footballer of the Year - Sam Kerr (Chicago Red Stars)
PFA Harry Kewell Medal: Daniel Arzani (Melbourne City)
PFA Men's Footballer of the Year: Aaron Mooy (Huddersfield Town)
PFA Alex Tobin OAM Medal: Paul Okon