The W-League season faces a hectic start with eight games to be played in as many days over the New Year period.

The 2020-21 fixture released on Monday has the first two rounds being played every day between December 27 and January 3 except New Year's Eve.

For the first time the W-League and A-League seasons will kick off on the same day, with Western Sydney hosting Melbourne Victory (W-L) and Macarthur (A-L) in a double-header at Bankwest Stadium on December 27.

Three days later, reigning W-League champions Melbourne City face a grand final rematch against Sydney FC at ANZ Stadium as part of a double-header with the same men's teams.

There are 11 double-header fixtures in total involving the two competitions across the 14 rounds - with Sydney FC involved in five.


"It's going to be great to get more exposure, playing before the men and having a bigger crowd," said new Sydney FC goalkeeper Jada Whyman, who moved from Western Sydney in the off-season.

As things stand, no W-League teams will be required to relocate due to border restrictions, with Perth Glory due to host Canberra United in their season opener at Dorrien Gardens on December 29, before playing Brisbane away in round two.

Several teams will play out of multiple home grounds - with Sydney FC (five home venues), Melbourne Victory (four), Western Sydney (three) all regularly on the move.

Melbourne City's home ground - bar a double-header at AAMI Park in round nine - is yet to be confirmed.

Adelaide's Coopers Stadium will host a stand-alone W-League game for the first time since November 2018 when United play Brisbane on March 21.

Sydney FC should enjoy arguably the best run home, as they do not travel outside NSW after round seven.

With most senior Matildas now based in Europe, this season shapes as an opportunity for younger players.

"We can create more depth here in Australia by giving other players opportunities at this point," Whyman said.

"It's a great time to do it as women's football is just taking off and so for us we need to keep creating more depth so we can keep up with other countries around the world."


* Western Sydney v Melbourne Victory, Bankwest Stadium, December 27

* Sydney FC v Melbourne City, ANZ Stadium, December 30

* Sydney FC v Western Sydney, ANZ Stadium, January 16

* Melbourne City v Melbourne Victory, TBC, January 28

* Adelaide United v Brisbane Roar, Coopers Stadium, March 21.