The tournament will see six teams; Queensland City, Queensland Country, NSW City and NSW Country plus an Australian Defence Force team competing for the first time in the history of the event.

The Championship gives players an opportunity to compete for their region, with the aim of progressing to State and National representation in the future.

The Women's Emerging Carnival will run alongside the event.

Prior to the Championship, the NRL will also host a Talent ID day on 31 May at Runaway Bay Rugby League Football Club.
It will provide an opportunity for current female rugby league players, together with female athletes to test themselves across a range of rugby league skills and drills, with the chance to be involved in the 2018 Women’s Premiership.
The National Championship will be live-streamed via the QRL website.