The five former Olympians, two women and three men, will be awarded the Member (AM) for service in a particular locality or field of activity or to a particular group or the Medal of the Order of Australia (OAM) for service worthy of particular recognition.

To be awarded their respective honour they must nominated for their service and subsequently go through a review process by the Council for the Order of Australia.  Here are the five athletes on the 2020 Queen's Birthday Honour:

Renita Garard AM - Field Hockey

Garard (née Farrell) is former Hockeyroo and double Olympic gold medalist who competed at Atlanta 1996 and Sydney 2000.  She also served as a Director of Hockey Australia for twelve years from 2020-2012 and a member of the International Hockey Federation's Executive Board for six years from 2006-2012.  She chaired the IHF's Athletes' Committee for four years.

Glenn Bourke AM - Sailing

Glenn Bourke represented Australia in sailing at the 1992 Barcelona Olympics in the Finn Class, in three America's Cup campaigns and three Admiral's Cup.  He also won three World Championships in the Laser category and was named Australian Yachtsman of the Year twice.  Since finishing competing he has served as an Olympic coach, a Venue Manager for sailing at the 2000 Sydney Olympics, and as an Olympic sailing team selector for London 2012 and Rio 2016.

Peta Edebone OAM - Softball

Three-time Olympian Peta Edebone represented Australia at the 1996 Atlanta, 2000 Sydney and 2004 Athens Games.  After winning two consecutive bronze medals she captained Australia to their best-ever finish, a silver, losing to the USA in Athens in the final.  Edebone retired from the national team in 2005 having played 330 games for the Aussie Spirit.

Walter Neville Howell OAM - Rowing

The two time Olympian competed in the 1956 Melbourne Olympics in men's eights where he won bronze and the 1960 Rome Olympics in the coxed pairs.  He won a further medal, a gold at the 1962 Perth Commonwealth Games again in men's eights.  After retiring from the sport he continued contributing to rowing programs at the Banks and Bendigo Rowing Clubs.

Miles Stewart OAM - Triathlon

The triathlete competed at the first Olympic triathlon at the 2000 Sydney Olympics, finishing sixth overall.  Two years later he won silver at the Manchester 2002 Commonwealth Games.  Stewart was a member of the Triathlon Australia Board from 2011 to 2015 before getting appointed CEO of Triathlon Australia in 2015.