The announcement on Monday sees the same categories for both male and female footballers.

The Best awards have always seen the FIFA Women's Player and FIFA Women's Coach of the Year awards handed out but unlike the men, there was no goalkeeper or Team of the Year.

FIFPro had named their own Women's World XI since 2015 but now it will be named alongside the men's this September.

“FIFA is certain that France will host a groundbreaking edition of the FIFA Women’s World Cup this year, so I cannot think of a better moment to introduce these new awards," FIFA’s Deputy Secretary General Zvonimir Boban said.

"It is yet another step in the right direction to raise the profile of women’s football.”

"The Best", as they are known by, started in 2016 following FIFA's split with the Ballon d'Or and it's creators France Football magazine.

Last year was the first time in 63 years that a Women's Ballon d'Or was awarded with Olympique Lyonnais forward Ada Hegerberg being the inaugural winner.

The Best ceremony is set to take place in Milan on September 23.

The Award categories:

The Best FIFA Men’s Player
The Best FIFA Women’s Player
The Best FIFA Men’s Coach
The Best FIFA Women’s Coach
The Best FIFA Men’s Goalkeeper
The Best FIFA Women’s Goalkeeper
FIFA FIFPro Men’s World11
FIFA FIFPro Women’s World11
The FIFA Puskás Award
The FIFA Fair Play Award
The FIFA Fan Award