“Today’s announcement is the result of two years of planning and a milestone within our delivery of The Gameplan for Growth strategy," FA’s Head of Women’s Football Baroness Sue Campbell said.

"The revised competition structure will positively impact on the delivery of the women’s game across all levels, both on and off the pitch," she said.

Manchester United return to senior women's football, who now have a pathway for their Girls Regional Talent Club players, for the first time since 2005 after being awarded a license for the Women’s Championship.

They will be joined by Lewes FC, Leicester City and Sheffield United in the second tier along with Charlton Athletic, who won the FA Women's Premier League play-off against Blackburn.

Lewes is a familiar face after they announced they were entering into an equal pay deal last year for their men's and women's teams meanwhile Millwall Lionesses made the cut despite financial difficulties.

Unfortunately, Sunderland Ladies do not make the top two divisions despite the club producing some of England’s current squad including captain Steph Houghton, Jill Scott and Jordan Nobbs.

Watford and Oxford who had been in the Women’s Super League 2 since its formation also missed out along with Sheffield FC and Southampton. 

The FA Women’s Super League:

Birmingham City Ladies
Brighton & Hove Albion Women
Bristol City Women
Chelsea FC Women
Everton Ladies FC
Liverpool Ladies FC
Manchester City Women
Reading FC Women
Yeovil Town Ladies
West Ham United Ladies

The Women’s Championship:

Aston Villa Ladies FC
Doncaster Rovers Belles
Durham Women FC
London Bees
Millwall Lionesses
Sheffield FC Ladies
Tottenham Hotspur Ladies
Charlton Athletic Women
Leicester City Women
Lewes FC Women
Manchester United Women
Sheffield United Ladies