Australia's historic ODI winning streak, the longest of any men or women's team at the international level, has come to an end yesterday with an Indian win.  It had originally started in 2018 and beat the previous record held by Ricky Ponting's 2003 World Cup champions.

For the second match in a row the ODI provided big runs, drops and a thrilling ending. 

The last ODI of the series, which will continue with a Test and then three T20s, saw a number of changes in the line-up.  After missing out on the previous game due to injury, Rachael Haynes returned to her spot as an opener. 

Haynes replaced Georgia Wareham after the youngster suffered a quad injury in the last match.  Annabel Sutherland returned to the fold for her first international in a year, taking the spot of Hannah Darlington.  Elsewhere Darcie Brown was changed for Annabel Sutherland, who received her first ODI cap for Australia.

Australia XI: Alyssa Healy (wk), Rachael Haynes, Meg Lanning (c), Ellyse Perry, Beth Mooney, Ashleigh Gardner, Tahlia McGrath, Nicola Carey, Annabel Sutherland, Sophie Molineux, Stella Campbell

India XI: Smriti Mandhana, Shafali Verma, Yastika Bhatia, Mithali Raj (c), Richa Ghosh (wk), Deepti Sharma, Pooja Vastrakar, Jhulan Goswami, Meghna Singh, Rajeshwari Gayakwad, Sneh Rana

For the first time in the series, Australia batted in the first innings.  Their innings included half centuries from Mooney and Gardner and set a target for India of 266 for the win.

India started well making it to 1-160 in 29.2 overs.  Campbell and Sunderland then gained some momentum for Australia, combining for five wickets.  However, Sneh Rana and Deepti Sharma were able to put India back on track for the win.  

The match ended with Meghna Singh ad Jhulan Goswani in the centre. Needing four runs in the final over, 38-year old Goswani was able to capitalize of a delivery and hit four for the victory.  

India won by two wickets.  

Both nations next meet for their day-night Test match which starts this Thursday on the Gold Coast.


Beth Mooney: The Master of Mackay

The Australian Women's Cricket team continued their streak with a thrilling last-ball victory against India. They now lead by 4 points in the Australia-India series.


Australian women start international summer

The Australian women's cricket team will commence their international summer tomorrow with the start of their mixed format series against India.


Tasmania hub for beginning of Women's Big Bash

The seventh edition of the Women's Big Bash was meant to start on October 14 at the North Sydney Oval. Due to current COVID-19 restrictions though, it will be temporarily relocated to Tasmania.