The opening match would see players represent either the Newcastle Jets Women or Sydney FC Women.

The Jets were led by Australia's most capped player, Cheryl Salisbury, who also captained the Matildas in China while Sydney were captained by former Matildas midfielder Heather Garriock.

There were two other matches in the series as the second match took place Suncorp Stadium when Queensland Roar Women host Newcastle Jets Women with a doubleheader with the A-League sides.

The final match of the series at Sydney Football Stadium between Sydney FC Women and Queensland Roar Women, also a doubleheader.

The Jets beat Sydney 4-2 in front of an estimated 5,000 fans.

Newcastle Jets Women: Cheryl Salisbury, Kate Gill, Melissa Barbieri, Clare Polkinghorne, Caitlin Munoz, Sally Shipard, Collette McCallum, Amber Neilson, Amy Chapman, Stacey Day, Victoria Balomenos, Jordan March, Jess Seaman, Emily van Egmond, Alison Logue, Rachael Wynne, Tracey Baker.

Coach: Gary Phillips

Sydney FC Women: Heather Garriock, Dianne Alagich, Joanne Burgess, Sarah Walsh, Lisa Hartley, Teresa Polias, Ellyse Perry, Lyndsay Glohe, Leena Khamis, Britt Simmons, Sam Spackman, Alesha Clifford, Lisa Gilbert, Carli Ikonomou, Linda O'Neill, Teigan Allen, Nicola Bolger, Liz O'Reilly

Coach: Alen Stajcic